Vienna Lager Feedback

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerLoverHere

Reaction score
I am planning on doing my first Vienna Lager. Has anyone tried this decoction process cut and pasted from a BYO article? I am new to a decoction mash, but want to try this out. This technique is a little different than the standard procedure and might be best for my first time. The method below is less labor intensive as you don't have to constantly stir mash on stove top as you have only the run-off and not the actual mash for each step (grain and water w/different ratio amounts depending on each step in a separate pot on stove 2-3 times before mash-out).

Heat 1.5 gals. of water to 132° F, crack and mix in malts and malted wheat. The mash should settle at 121° F. Hold 30 minutes, then remove 3 qts. of liquid from the mash and boil it 15 minutes. Stir heated mash back into the mash tun. This should raise the whole mash to 137° F or so. Hold another 30 minutes, then remove 3 qts. again and bring to a boil. Boil this 15 minutes, add it back to the mash tun, raising the whole to about 152° F. Hold here for 60 minutes, then lauter and sparge with 2 gals. of 168° F water.

This is my grain bill if anyone is interested in critiquing for a 6.25 gal batch:

5.5# Vienna
4# Light Munich
2# Pilsner
0.25# Caramunich 40L (for color)
0.5oz Black Patent (for color)

My SRM comes out a bit on the low side, however I am thinking the various steps/boiling should darken it up quite a bit. Hallertau HOPS (24 IBU) and Munich Lager YEAST (4.8%). Everything comes out true to the style when I enter recipe. Just need some feedback on decoction process.

Thx for reading this far!