Ugly mead after 24 hours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orerockon

Reaction score
Hello, I just started 20 gallons of mead, I've been making mead for 8 years or so and I haven't seen anything like this. I do it in 5 gallon batches, and did 4 last night. Today 3 are yucky looking, brown like tea and a gray/brown scum cap, something is going on but it isn't fizzy like I expected. 1 is exactly what I expected, yellow and fizzy. I didn't do anything out of the ordinary, except I switched to EC-1111 because my Lavlin 71B batches have been very slow to get fermenting. So it's obvious from the photos what's going on, is the brown/gray one toast? I have 2 other buckets that look the same. It's about 24 hours since I added the yeast.

Attachments

• 20230117_135724.jpg
    20230117_135724.jpg
    222.4 KB · Views: 0
  • 20230117_135730.jpg
    20230117_135730.jpg
    332.5 KB · Views: 0
  • 20230117_135736.jpg
    20230117_135736.jpg
    291.7 KB · Views: 0
  • 20230117_135743.jpg
    20230117_135743.jpg
    309.6 KB · Views: 0
The same, 10 lbs. of honey & 5 gal. water, EC-1111 started with GoFerm, a couple teaspoons of wine tannin and acid blend.

It looks like they are all fermenting. Is the gravity dropping on all four?

I have no idea why the differences between them but if fermenting i would let them run and see how they come out.

I have had some batches get a brown krausen similar to what you have here. No idea why. With that said they turned out well.