Trub removal.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Genometrix

Reaction score
Hello not a total beginner at brewing, but I am with conical fermenters. So i decided to try the catalyst fermenter and was just wondering after the first trub removal there is still quit a bit. How long should i let it settle before trying to remove more of it?

As the material separates and falls out of suspension the makeup changes.
Trub will settle out first and that makes-up the majority of what you see in the first day or two.
Then as time passes the layers start to be more yeast than trub.
Make sense?
So you probably got most of it out with the first dump
At least that is what seems to happen in my fermenter.
It's your call if you want to keep dumping but that does reduce the volume of beer in the long run.

If you are using collection jars on the bottom of the valve to dump the trub, then you will waste a lot of beer. If Catalyst uses a standard mason jar screw for a collection jar then you probably should have put a very small jar on it after the first trub dump so you would not be wasting as much beer.

But as mentioned it's your call. That way you can say it's your beer!

Some of the other conical fermenters with sanitary fittings and sight glass will allow you to dump even small amounts of trub easier through a hose barb fitting or some other narrow fitting that isn't so wide that the beer pushes past the trub.