trub removal problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chefmatt34

Reaction score
i have been brewing for about 6 months and have had varied success removing trub from my brewpot to my fermenter. Does anyone have a foolproof technique to help with this "problem" for me? Also what opinions on effects of it do you all have on not removing all of the trub ifor the primary fermentation? Thanks in advance.

Alot of us leave the trub with no negative effects. It will settle out.

I don't see it as a problem at all. I just pour the whole pot in my fermenter and let time take care of cleaning it up. My beers come out crystal clear so it must be working.

Some people on here swear by the "whirlpool" method, I just dumped the break with the wort into my fermenter and when I racked I would seperate it then. Now that i brew outside in a keggle, I just leave tha last little bit in the bottom of my keggle and don't worry about transfering every drop over.

bradsul said:
I seem to be posting this once a week now. :) Look up the whirlpooling method on the wiki. Here is the result of mine.

THANK YOU! that was the pic I had in mind when I posted, but for some reason i didn't see it (probably because i mispelled my search or somthing stupid like that:D )

bradsul said:
I seem to be posting this once a week now. :) Look up the whirlpooling method on the wiki. Here is the result of mine.

Nice. Did you still get the break material? It looks like a hop pellet pile to me. I tried whirlpooling my last batch, but after waiting for it to settle, the break was evenly distributed across the bottom.

EdWort said: