surviving in an alcohol soaked environment - self examination

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Owly055

Reaction score
I have been drinking legally for almost 40 years... Drinking age was 18 when I moved to Montana in 1973 at age 18, and I'd been secretly brewing and drinking for 3 years before that.

During the time I've lived in and around small towns (most of my adult life), alcohol has been deeply rooted in the culture. The people I associate all drink more or less, and all social events except religious ones (which always avoid) involve alcohol to a greater or lesser extent.

I've always been hyper aware of the potential of developing a problem / habit, and never wanted a monkey on my back, so with a few "excursions" beyond my "comfort zone", I've been extremely conservative. Conservative to the extent of limiting myself to one or two drinks in an evening out, and avoiding making that a daily ritual.

The last couple of years, I've been outside that comfort zone, drinking virtually every day... at least one or two drinks, often at home alone in the evening, or one at lunch, or even a breakfast beer. I virtually always hold things down below the "buzz level" or to a very light buzz, as I prefer not to physically feel the alcohol, but I really don't think that this is relevant as far as "habit forming" is concerned.

I've completely stopped consuming alcohol... for about a week now, to give my body a rest and to take stock of my relationship with alcohol. I plan to stay on this track for at least a month or two, though I have two brews going at the moment, and a considerable stock of beer and some whiskey on hand.