Steeping

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Burns

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post. I've been brewing for the last 5 months now. I'm switching up my style from using mostly liquid malt syrup to using more grains in hopes to eventually go all grain. However, I've got mixed suggestions on how long to steep grains for. The batch recently made, I used 7 lbs of grains and steeped for 30 minutes but I've heard from others say 60 minutes is better. I've made previous batches steeping for 30 minutes and they've turned out good however, I only used around 3 lbs of grains and a lot of syrup. What's your thoughts on how long steeping process should go for? Any suggestions is helpful. Thanks!

The batch recently made, I used 7 lbs of grains and steeped for 30 minutes but I've heard from others say 60 minutes is better. I've made previous batches steeping for 30 minutes and they've turned out good however, I only used around 3 lbs of grains and a lot of syrup. What's your thoughts on how long steeping process should go for?

Just want some clarification, what grains are you steeping? You might be better off doing a mini-mash rather than steeping.

When you steep grains you are mostly after color and flavor. Usually if you just have caramel/crystal, roast, or black malt you can steep.

When you mash (or mini-mash) you are after color, flavor, and you want enzymes to convert starch to fermentable sugar. If you have base malts like 2-row, 6-row, pilsner, Munich, Vienna, Maris Otter, etc, you need to mash.

When I steep grains I usually aim for 20 minutes at roughly 140 degrees. You can check out my signature for a podcast all about mashing.

Welcome to the HBT Forum!

Although they look similar, there's a big difference between steeping and mashing: