Porter Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steelcity

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the home brewing process with only about 10 sessions under my belt. I started off with extract kits and quickly realized all grain was the way for me to go. Here is a recipe for a porter that I designed using BeerSmith and brewed my last session that I was looking for some comments, critique, and advice.

For a 5 gallon batch I used:

6# 8 oz Pale Malt (2 Row)
3# Caramunich
1# 8oz Carmel/Crystal 10L
1# Chocolate Malt
1# Flaked Barley

Mash at 152 for 60 mins

60 Min Boil
1 oz Northern Brewer 45 mins
1 oz Northern Brewer 15 Mins
1 oz Willamette 5 mins

1 pack English Ale #WLP002

1.046 OG
40.5 IBUs
31.6 SRM

I thought that the beer turned out pretty good and a couple buddies that tried it out that it was good as well. This being one of my first attempts at my own recipes I thought I would get some feedback on it.

That's a lot of Caramel/Crystal malt! I would imagine your final gravity would be high with a sweet finish. I'm guessing you were shooting for more of an English Brown Porter. Nothing wrong with caramunich, just cut back to a lb maybe. I personally would Replace with some Marris Otter or similar - depending on what your base Pale Malt is. If you want to go more London style throw brown malt in. If you want more roast/ chocolate flavor replace 1/2 the chocolate malt with Black Patent.

My initial reaction is that the recipe has a ridiculous amount of crystal malt. It's at ~35% as it stands. To each his own but if you make it a second time try cutting that amount at least in half. While there's no official rule 5-10% crystal malt is a common amount in the style.