Oatmeal Chocolate Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thaywoody

Reaction score
I am fairly new to home brewing but I have made several good beers. After doing a lot of reading and running a mini mash kit from Northern Homebrew I am ready to try a recipe of my own making. I would appreciate any input that can be offered:

Mini mash

1lb Flaked oats
1lb Chocolate
.5 lb dark crystal
.5 lb caramel cyrstal
2lb Maris Otter

6lb LME Dark
1lb Lactose
1lb DME Dark

1oz goldings for 60 mintues
1oz Nugget at 30 minutes

Adding in cacao nibs in secondary

Probably using Safale S-05

http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/145840/chocolate-oatmeal-stout

Don't use Dark LME or DME. Just use the pale/gold stuff. You don't know what they used to turn those dark, and repeating this recipe will be difficult. Your chocolate and crystal malts will give you plenty of color and a better/fresher flavor than whatever roasted and crystal malts were used in the extract.

I'd also skip the lactose, you have plenty of unfermentables in there. It will probably end up way too sweet if you keep it in.

Using Brewers Friend I could easily drop the DME but I don't seem to have enough grains to get above 2% ABV without the LMW

I'm not saying drop the DME and LME. I'm saying use Pale or Golden DME and LME instead of the Dark.

If you were brewing this all-grain you would be using 2-row or Pale Ale malt to make up the bulk of your fermentables. The best way to create an Extra+Grains recipe is to treat it the same way - use the lightest extract you can to make up the bulk of your fermentables, and then add your character grains (chocolate and crystal malts) on top of that.