No airlock action after 48 hours? Was yeast DOA?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Looper

Reaction score
Pitched US-05 on Saturday evening around 5pm.

OG was 1.070. Temp was 70* F

1 packet dry yeast.

Still no action in the airlock. Any ideas? Lid on bucket is sealed, bunghole is sealed and intact around airlock stem. Thanks for any and all comments!

Relative newbie here but no airlock doesn't necessarily mean no activity. Look for krausen forming. What was date on yeast packet? I have also heard that activity can sometimes take up to 72 hours so leave it for another day or so.

Correct. Airlock activity is not an indication of fermentation. If you look inside your bucket and you can see foam on top, it's fermenting.

Thanks for your response.

I actually leave my beers at my parents house in the basement (where I occasionally brew), so I don't have daily access to check on the beer.

I'm probably just going to get another packet of yeast after work today.

Anybody have an idea how long unfermented beer can last without the introduction of viable yeast? My guess is probably all dependent on how clean and sanitized the environment is, but curious to hear other thoughts.

Thanks!