Newbie question, Weird floaters in my Mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krail

Reaction score
So I got the book Wild Fermentation, mainly out of an interest in pickling, though the book also talks about things like making yogurt and brewing beer and wine.

The very first recipe in the book is for a super simple Mead brew. I've never done any sort of brewing before and this sounded fun and easy, so I thought I'd try it. It's presented as something very simple that you can just go out and do without too much preparation or background knowledge, but I'm finding that it left out a lot of potential pitfalls (and notably didn't mention any sanitation procedures)

The recipe says to mix a 4:1 ratio of water and raw, unpasteurized honey, mix it thoroughly in a covered container (I used a plastic gallon pitcher with a dish cloth over it) and let it sit a couple days, stirring occasionally. The yeast present in the honey and in the environment is supposed to be enough to ferment, I guess. Once the mixture is foaming, then the recipe says to transfer it to a jug and cap it with an airlock.

As you're probably imagining at this point, I'm having some issues with the first step. It's been a week. It is not fermenting properly and I'm seeing these weird floaters in it , which I assume are some kind of bacterial colony (they're hard to photograph, but you can kinda see that little cloudy splotch I've caught with my spoon there)

Does anyone know what these are or if the mix is salvageable?

Can't tell anything from your pictures but wine yeast is like $1 a packet, you can go to your local homebrew store and get a packet and pitch it and you'll probably be fine.

Well if it's raw honey, then there's likely gonna be some pollen and other fine debris in it.