New to All Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AugustaBlvdBrews

Reaction score
Howdy there. I started brewing just a couple months ago doing all grain and have two batches down. From those batches I've encountered two key issues. By the way, I do BIAB so hopefully that helps with the context of the questions:

1. My yields have been very low. I am starting with around 5.1 gallons in my steep and end up only transferring about 2-2.5 gallons into the fermenter. I noticed in my first batch how much grain/sediment ended up seeping through my steeping bag and as such had quite a bit of leftover grain in the boil kettle that I did not end up transferring into the carboy.

2. The beer has tasted quite good actually; however, they have had a bitter aftertaste. Not bitter, hops bitter but it's almost like the malts don't taste right and the hops didn't produce the desired affect to balance against the malt.

I believe these issues could be related and that possibly the boiling of the grain that has seeped through the bag is cause for this.

I don't believe it to be a caused during fermentation because I only had it fermenting for 3 weeks (no secondary, no dry hopping). Then went 3 weeks into bottles.

Any suggestions/tips for improving yields/reducing sediment and eliminating that bitter, over-malty aftertaste, that would be great! The bottom line is that I want more good beer to drink!

na zdravi!

Alot of variables.
For starters what is your gravity target?
Did you hit it?
What is your final gravity?
Did you use Irish Moss or Worlfloc in your boil?
If your gravity was high you could add water to hit your target.
Your grains are soaking up the extra water.
What size is your boil pot.