NE Style IPA Hop Addition Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew_and_ride

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing but would like to try a NE Style IPA. I've been doing some reading and understand that besides a small addition during the boil, to prevent boil overs, most of the hops are added during the "whirlpool" and dry hopping.

My question is how to add my hops during dry hopping. I plan on adding hops during fermentation and then adding them for days at a time afterwards. Most recipes I see look something like this:

City (60 min boil)
Amarillo/Columbus (1 day into fermentation)
Move to secondary
Amarillo/Columbus 3 days
Amarillo/Columbus 5 days
Amarillo/Columbus 7 days
(*note, this is just a simple example not an exact recipe)

My question is do I just continue to add more hops every few days on top of the hops already in there or do I re-rack it before every new hop addition?

Thanks!

With this style, IMO, i dont think a secondary is necessary. I add a good amount of hops once my fermentation starts to slow (still krausen, just after its not at peak activity), and remove them 2 to 3 days later.

I dont add anything else til about day 8 or 9. I add ALL the hops in a hop sack, because i dont like to let the hop matter sit in contact with the beer for more than 2 or 3 days MAX to avoid the green flavors that you will get withthe amount of hops you should be using.

The other reason you dont want to secondary is the risk of oxidation with these beers is real and it will dramatically effect the longevity of the brew. I take extra precautions when transferring to keg as well by flushing everything with Co2 before i transfer.