my first recipe need help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

milliser

Reaction score
we started a recipe and wondered how it might turn out here it is

steeping grains 40 mins
.5 lbs vienna malt
.5 lbs dingemans aromatic malt
.5 lbs munich malt

full boil

4 lbs pale lme
2.8 lbs amber dme

2 oz target hops pellets 60 min boil
1 oz cascade pellets 30 min
1 oz cascade pellets 15 min
1 tsp irish moss 15 min

and white labs british ale yeast
7 days in primary dry hop with 1 oz of citra hops secondary for 14 days

well if it wont work let me have it since i am new to this and dont mind bieng told i suck lol thanks

It looks fine, although your "steeping grains" are actually grains that are mashed, and not steeped, so I assume you mashed them.

There are only a couple of things I'd change. One is to not use amber DME. It has crystal malt in it, and maybe other malts, like Munich, so it's hard to use in a recipe since you don't know what's in it. It should be fine, though, since you didn't use crystal malt in your grains.

I'd change the hopping just a bit. Any hops added before about 20 minutes from the end of the boil will provide bittering, but not much in the way of flavor and no aroma, so I'd rather bitter at 60 minutes (bittering), 15 minutes (flavor) and 5-0 minutes (aroma). The recipe you have will provide a very bitter beer, with some hops flavor and little to no hops aroma. I'd prefer less bitterness.

I also don't like to dryhop for more than about 7 days. Ideally, I dryhop for 5 days. I like to dryhop just before packaging the beer for the best and freshest hops aroma.

You are looking at a Pale Ale here. I'd add half a pound of Crystal (I suggest C60) to the grains.