Mead beginner, 1 gallon recipe tips

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,
I am very new to the whole home brew process. I have been researching mead for about 3 weeks now and still find a lot I still need to learn. I am about to start my first batch and wanted to get some advice.
First I am probably breaking a cardinal sin and I am using a 1 gallon water jug. Since I am new to this I wanted to make sure it's something I would enjoy before buying a glass carboy.
My recipe is pretty basic:
2 lbs Honey
3 blood oranges if I can't get them 2 passion fruits
20 raisins
Half a pack of yeast (dont know the specific kind yet)
And probably the ballon bubler technique

I am looking for something sweet with a hint of citrus flavor but want to keep the honey as the main star. I read in one forum that the raisins help fuel the yeast so that the mead doesn't become to dry.

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated. I am very looking forward into making this a hobby.

I believe a lot of people use plastic jugs, but you can get cheap glass sets ups. Here is the link to the amazon carboys/airlocks I got when I started.
1 Gallon glass Jug https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0064O8Z76/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20
Twin Bubble Airlock and Carboy Bung (Pack of 2) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00A6TRKO4/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

Less than $20 an you have a decent set up.
As for the recipie, depending on how dry/sweet you want it you may want more honey. As far as I know, pretty much any yeast will eat right through 2 or 3 pounds of honey leaving it bone dry. If you want it sweet, 4 - 6 pounds good, any more than 6 and your yeast probably wont get started. Some people say 6 pounds is far too much, but I use just shy of that in one of my best recipies.