Mashing thin seems like a better choice.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MPBeer

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to brewing, and just brewed my second (4th if I include experience with my brew teachers) batch. What comes to my mind is that getting my mash temperature stable is one of the hardest part of brewing, and last time my mash temperature was 149 to 165, I just couldn't control it. However this time, I chose to insulate my mash tun with thick blanket, and it worked pretty well. Mahsed for 45 min and only lost 2F(1C").

So, here's what I think. I heard that people who are brewing bigger batches benefits from losing less heats because of their bigger mash volume. What if I mash thinner, like 1.5~2 quarts per lb (3~4L/kg) to get my water temperature more stable? I read an article about mash thickness, and seems like mash thickness doesn't affect anything to the flavor. If I'm brewing a imperial stout with 20+ pounds of grains, I should go thicker since my 30L mash tun would be full, but else than that, seems like mashing thinner is a better choice. Am I missing something here? What do you guys think?

Cheers.

Hi. I'm new to brewing, and just brewed my second (4th if I include experience with my brew teachers) batch. What comes to my mind is that getting my mash temperature stable is one of the hardest part of brewing, and last time my mash temperature was 149 to 165, I just couldn't control it. However this time, I chose to insulate my mash tun with thick blanket, and it worked pretty well. Mahsed for 45 min and only lost 2F(1C").