Limit to repitching yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chimind

Reaction score
So I'm a pretty big fan of white labs California ale yeast, and I've been using the same yeast for the past 5 months or so, and over that time span, it's probably been through 7 batches. I've been keeping pitching from the bottom of the bottle into starters every time, being pretty sterile, but not necessarily over the top. I'm seeing that a lot of people are saying not to reuse yeast past 4-5 batches and I'm wondering what the reasoning is behind this. Is it a contamination issue or a mutation issue? I'm guessing the latter. I'm starting to keg, so I'm going to be maintaining a mother culture until I start culturing it on agar. If my beer keeps on tasting good I see no reason to waste money (I'm poor). Anyways, if there's something I'm not getting feel free to shoot me down.

Genetic Drift or Contamination can be a factor. Sometimes it can be a noticable difference or not so much. As long as you are using proper sanitation you can probably get away with using that same yeast strain for a while.

I always do this for as long as I can. After a few generations (4 maybe 5) sometimes I get contamination. This is always a white coloured mould around the top of the karasen (sp?) I don't know what it is, I've posted pics of it on here in a thread I've started. If you're interested.
The one thing that I've noticed is that my beers finish a little higher FG but are super clear with later generations. It would be interesting to see what others think about this, but I think it might have to do with harvesting the cake and getting most of the yeast that floc early??
I'm not sure, but I pretty much make the same