Keg conditioning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scriv

Reaction score
I'm currently fermenting a milk stout, it'll be done with primary in a week and a half. It's currently occupying my mini fridge, which I need free for my next batch. I'm planning to rack it to a keg, but I'm not sure what to do after that. I have a few choices:

1. Seal the keg up and condition it in the garage for a few weeks at ambient temps (65-85 this time of year).

2. Seal the keg and condition it in a closet at ambient temps (75).

3. Seal the keg and condition it in the kegerator at 38 degrees.

This is my first time kegging so I'm not sure how to proceed.

I'd go with Option 2. A fully fermented stout can handle 75°F pretty near indefinitely, imo, at least compared with pretty much every other style.

If you're looking for mellowing/melding/"aging", you won't get a lot of that at 38°F. And at the other end, constant, significant temperature changes are rarely great for anything organic...

Cheers!

When you say condition do you mean to carbonate, to age or to clear (drop out yeast etc)

If you are priming and carbonating i would go with the cupboard at 75.
if you are just aging then I would go for the cupboard as well, it will happen faster at higher temps and day tripper is spot on with fluctuating temps
If you are trying to clear the beer then colder is better.

If you are not conditioning to carbonate then make sure your purge the headspace with co2.

2. I wouldn't think temperature swings would be beneficial & not much will happen at 38 degrees. I regularly leave kegs at 65 degrees in my fermentation chamber...75 isn't too far off. best of luck.