Just bought BeerSmith, it's pretty vast...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neldred

Reaction score
...So what are some of the things to look at first (I'm a newb on my 9th batch, just started steeping with DME from Mr. Kit)? Other than the most vast calculator, it seems to be an encyclopedia of how-to. Probably too broad of a question, but maybe you guys who have been using it a long while could tell some of the specific ways it helped expand your craft.

Cheers:mug:

I use it as my brew log.
I use it to develop recipes either to style (if that is my goal) or experimental.
I use it to calculate sparge amounts and temperatures.
It has a lot of ingredient information to let me know what is appropriate to use in a recipe.
It's just fun to use.

It mostly helped me with recipe formulation and to a certain extent gave a better grasp of what numbers like OG, FG, IBU, SRM really "mean". That helped when learning what to change the next time and by how much when figuring out what you liked/disliked.

I agree with the fun thing too. I have TONS of recipes that I have put together just for the hell of it and I doubt very many if any will ever get brewed.

I use it for all sorts of stuff. You question is a little too broad like you mentioned. I would suggest the best way to learn the software is to find the recipe you want to do next and enter it all into Beersmith. Then take a look at the brewday printout that the software provides. I love those printouts!

P.S. The writer of the software is a member here. His name is BeerSmith.

anything and everything you need beersmith will help