JSP Maltmill on Craigslist? Good deal? (vs crankandstein?)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bakk

Reaction score
Hey guys, been lurking forever... and I finally have a multi-part question I hope some of you can help me with.

I'm pretty new with the whole brewing thing, but I want to eventually get into all grain and I've been keeping an eye out on craigslist for potential deals (i.e. the elusive $30 corny).

Long story short, I stumbled across this ad here:
http://losangeles.craigslist.org/sfv/for/4339573042.html

... and I wanted to know if $70 was a decent price for a JSP Maltmill. Also, can any of you tell what model (P [preadjusted], A [one-roller adjustable], or AA [both rollers adjustable]) it is from the photo? I would rather not pick something up that I'm going to replace in the future, and I've been eyeing the crankandstein mills since I discovered them (probably the 2A or 2D model). The price difference between the craigslister's asking price and one of the crankandstein's is only $30-40 or so, not including shipping... But then I would have to fabricate a hopper... etc.

I haven't even see this JSP mill yet, and he may not even have it available anymore, I'm just wondering if it's something I should jump on, or if it's better to hold out (and shell out) for something that would last a lot longer.

Just a newbie looking for input is all!

Cheers :)

Get a barley crusher with the 15 pound hopper. Grain mil is not something to skimp on and I have had 3 and feel it's the best one.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

that mill is as good as a barley crusher or better. the hopper is no big deal to fit on.