Is This a Stalled Fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Texasspur21

Reaction score
FYI, I'm new to brewing, this is my 3rd brew. The first pic is right after racking to primary.

Here is my all grain Kama Citra IPA 4 days after pitching the yeast. I used Mangrove Jacks M44 in a 3 day starter. It started out vigorously fermenting 12 hours after pitching the yeast at 4pm Fri. A layer of Krausen formed and then on Sunday the airlock started slowing down and so did the activity inside. The krausen started going down. The fermentation cooler is set to 64F.

My OG reading of 1022 was definitely not correct. It is the plastic "herculometer" from Northern and the top cap came out so easily and water got in, so I don't have an OG. Could the bulk of fermentation already happened in less than 48 hours? Should I just let it go?

IMG_2322.jpg

IMG_2331.jpg

IMG_2333.jpg

damn 3 day starter is way to much, most starters are done in 24-36 hours using a stir plate, without the OG i would just "assume" i did hit the target OG and take a gravity reading to see if fermentation was done, should be in the low 1.008-1.014, you should at least leave your beer fermenting for 5 days at 64 then raise it to 70 for 2 days to finish up fermentation.

Yup looks fine to me. You've got some crazy protein separation going on in the first picture, but nothing to worry about.

Get yourself a good glass hydrometer and use that to take readings. You won't know if fermentation has stalled without hydrometer readings. I've had plenty of beers mostly finish in 2 days. My usual grain to glass is 14 days.