How should I brew these ingredients?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StinkyVp

Dictator
Reaction score
I can explain how I got to this point but the bottom line is I have the following ingredients and am wondering the best way to brew them.
I have brewed 4 batches and bottled 2 so I'm a noob. A little grain steeping is about as complicated as I have done so far. I ordered some ingredients and ended up with the following (not exactly what I ordered but want to make the best of it). I'm just looking for a simple lawnmower beer.

5 gal batch
Briess Pilsen (Extra) Light Dry Extract - 3 lbs, 0 oz
Briess Flaked Rice - 1 lbs, 0 oz
Briess 2-Row Brewer's Malt - 1 lbs, 0 oz
Crystal Pellets - 1 oz @ 35 mins
SAFALE US-05 American Ale - 1 ea

From what I can find it looks like I need to steep the 2-row and rice for 1hr in ~1gallon of water then pour a ~half gallon of 170 degree water over them in a strainer. Then add my DME and boil for an hour adding my hops about half way. Ferment as normal (my temp is ~72). I've never done anything but steep but it all sounds fun. I guess the rice is throwing me off.

I realize I'm off on some of this (maybe most or all :confused:). I'm willing to buy more stuff if needed but don't want to waste anything. I have two other kits to brew so I"m not in a rush.
Thanks in advance.