How long for Butyric Acid to show itself?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matteo57

Reaction score
Hi there,

How long does Butyric acid usually take to get to the threshold for most people to be able to smell and taste it?
I have a Solera barrel going of sour beer in a 60g oak barrel. I brewed some beer and used us.05 to ferment it and then was going to transfer into the barrel after fermentation was complete.
When cleaning up after brew day, I noticed that there was a bunch of crap left in the counter flow chiller that somehow I had missed when cleaning it last time. I did run boiling wort through the chiller for 10-15 minutes before transferring and even oxyclean and 160F water for 20ish minutes before I started brewing that day.
Anyways, I want to make sure that I don't transfer something that might start showing butyric acid in it at some point, so wondering when I might want to wait until to see if the beer is showing signs of it or not before transferring it.
Thanks in advance for any insight and assistance in this!

Matt

I don’t think you need to worry. If I understand what you’re saying, you may have added a little byproduct from spoilage critters but not the critters themselves so what’s there is all that is going to be there (minus maybe a little from Lacto?). Does it smell like vomit now? The threshold for taste is somewhere around 2000 ppb. Some strains of Brett are shown to convert it into ethyl butyrate which has a pineapple taste. So Just diversity your Brett strains and I think you’ll be fine.

Just want to reinforce a couple things.