Hi folks!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TNAndy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Thanks for allowing me to participate here.

I'm a homebrewer from East Tennessee. I consider myself a novice brewer, but perhaps not a complete newbie. That being said, it's been several years since I last brewed a batch. Let's just say building and moving into a new house quickly turns into a black hole that consumes all free time.

I like dark ales with lots of hops, both flavor and aroma. My wife tends to go for light commercial beers. I hope to be able to brew a beer she will like and wean her off the canned stuff.

I still have most of the equipment I need: one 3-gallon and three 5-gallon carboys; a couple hundred 16 ounce (1/2 liter?) Grolsch flip top bottles, both brown and green. It may be that my 6 gallon plastic brewing bucket may have had it--I'm not sure I'll be able to clean it sufficiently for a sanitized process. I wouldn't expect siphon tubing and airlocks to be much of an acquisition problem. The airlocks I had before were all plastic. I'd rather have a couple of glass ones if I can find them. I'm sure my old rubber stoppers are all toast.

I'm also a Certified Tennessee Extension Master Gardener. I'm looking for a suitable place in my yard to grow a few varieties of hops. I'd like to grow some barley, too, but I'm sure I don't have enough garden for a brewable crop. Malting and roasting might be more of a challenge than I'd want to tackle as well.