First Time Dry-Hopping - Is it Ready to Bottle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beese

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Wondered if I could get some feedback on whether my beer is ready to be bottled yet.

I brewed a 1 gallon batch of Black IPA from a recipe from BeerCraftr. This is my first time having dry-hopped a beer, and I used pellets, rather than whole hops.

It's been dry-hopping for 5 days, as per the recipe, and I was intending to bottle today, but I'm not sure whether I should wait longer.

Obviously, the beer is dark, so it's not super easy to see, but from shining a light through it, the beer appears to be totally opaque and there's what I believe are bits of the hop pellets floating about.

Should I wait longer before I bottle, in the hope that it will clear somewhat? Or could I perhaps filter the beer through (sanitised) muslin when I syphon it into the 'bottling bucket' to mix it with the brewing sugar solution, before I put it into bottles? Or is this liable to remove too much yeast and prevent a secondary fermentation in the bottle?

Thanks for any help or suggestions!

Ed
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2b0a.jpg
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2b09.jpg

Last edited:
Do you have a cool area of the house to lower the temp a bit? That might help some particles to settle out. When I dry hop in those types of 1G jugs, I just try my best to siphon from the middle and slowly work my way down to the cake. You should see a greenish layer of hop particles just above the yeast cake. I nearly always end up transferring a few pieces here and there, but I'm pretty careful when I pour my bottles into my glass, and they fall out and settle on the bottom of the bottle during carbonation/cold conditioning in the fridge.