First Sparkling Hard Cider attempt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjpummell

Reaction score
My OG was 1.137. It's been in the primary for about a month, and is still quite actively fermenting. Any thoughts at what point to transfer to secondary? [I'm considering racking onto some fresh (heated to kill the funk) raspberries]. Does anyone know what the final gravity range for a hard cider should be? Thanks.

For such a high OG it could easily pass 0.990 and be some seriously boozy stuff for a long while

Secondary transfer is up to you but there are two main schools of thought. Some folks rack anytime the lees get to be 1/2 inch or more while others wait for fermentation to slow down noticeably. Both work great.

I'm relatively new to brewing, and I appreciate your advice. I should consider spinning the hydrometer to see how close I am to 1.0 as I rack to the secondary then? Also, any thoughts on the effect of raspberries to the overall taste if I rack secondary sooner than later?

Taking a hydrometer reading will definitely give you a clearer picture of what's going on in the batch. Probably a good idea to gain experience and understanding since you're new to this. Then in the future you'll have a better sense of where a batch is without having to resort to the hydrometer.

I find that adding fruit while fermentation is still going on will change the body but add only minor flavor to the batch. I prefer to add fruit as a back-sweetener so that the flavor is retained in the unfermented sugars.

I'm no expert but I've never had an active fermentation that hasn't got close to 1.000 in two weeks.