Fermenting under pressure and kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WinoBob

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

So I'll be receiving my first FermZilla next week, and will be trying my hand at fermenting under pressure. I got the pressure kit for it, and also a Spundit valve. Just thought I'd outline my planned process here, and would love for you all to weigh in and punch holes in my logic, since I'm fairly new to kegging and the whole thought process when it comes to temperatures and psi.

Let's say I'm aiming for around 2.5 volumes of carbonation. Since the temperature where I keep the fermenter is around 65F, I thought I'd ferment the beer and set the Spundit at 29 psi. Then, a day or so before kegging, I'll purge the keg and put it in the fridge (which is at 40F) to pre-cool. When it's time to transfer, I'll pressurize the keg to 13 psi, connect the out post of the Fermzilla to the out post of the keg and let the difference in pressure push the beer over to the keg, and then put the keg in the fridge.

Does this make sense? Since I'm a bit of a noob, I may be all sorts of stupid here, so feel free to shoot me down! :)

Cheers!

2.5 volumes @65 degrees is 26 psi. I've never attempted transferring carbonated beer yet . I would think your keg should be just under what pressure you have in your fermenter or else it will foam . I dknt know if 13 psi in a keg will work but I'm interested in this so I'll be watching. Someone with more knowledge will surely be here with advice . Congrats on your new Fv!