EVA Barrier Length

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BDRJ

Reaction score
I am about to keg my first beer in a newly built keezer and before I did that I wanted to make sure I had the proper line length.

Looking at the online calculators it appears I would need 12.5 feet of length for each keg for 8mm OD/5mm ID EVA line.

I was kind of under the impression that I would need less length vs the 3/16 vinyl tubing that came with my keezer package.

Thanks in advance

5mm ID is actually wider bore than the classic 3/16" ID beer line (0.19685 vs 0.1875).

fwiw, I've been running the 4mm ID EVABarrier tubing since the fall of 2019 and cut my lines to 6.5 feet for my 11 psi runs (most ales) and my 35 psi stout line (the stout faucet provides the resistance) and 9 feet for my 15 psi run (3 volume wheat beers, saisons, etc).

I needed the 6.5 feet to make it from the furthest corners of my 14cf keezer up the central tower to the faucets, but otherwise could have used even shorter lines...

Cheers!

Wow! I wonder if I could get that 3mm stuff onto barbs.
Yup! I tried to document it inthe thread I linked above. I got kind of aggressive though, using a heat-gun instead of a pot of hot water and I screwed up one of the 4 lines I was doing: I got it too hot and slightly blobbed the end which split when I tried to shove the barb on, so had to cut off a few mm's and try again.
Here's a good one:
BarbFinis.jpg

I just did my first keg-swap since replacing all the lines and it was a joy to finally not have dangling coils of line in the way.
:mug:

Note that those flow control QDs always put restriction on the line, even at their minimum setting. Some people have run into issues with that...

Cheers!