DIY Temp Control for Fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sonsofsummer

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m fairly new to homebrewing Through reading, I’ve come to learn how crucial temperature control during fermentation can be. With this said, I would like to attempt to build a DIY temp control setup and have an idea that I was going to attempt but wanted to first get some input as to whether I’m on the right track.

Essentially, I have a stainless steel coil that will go through the lid of my ss fermenter (through bungs on the lid).

My plan is to attach hoses that run to a cooler (generic Coleman camping cooler)

Inside of the cooler, I will have several large reusable ice packs with the remaining volume being filled with water.

Inside the cooler I will have a submersible pump which will feed into a copper coil.

The copper coil will attach to vinyl hose on its way to the fermenter. The return water from the loop will simply be re-added to the pool in the cooler

The pump engaging will be controlled by an inkbird.

I would like to be able to maintain Ale fermentation temperatures (I’m confident that 68F/20C is doable), but would also like to be able to cold crash and perhaps Lager.

I’m sure someone has already attempted this kind of setup.

Thanks in advance for your input!

Not knowing the size of the coil in relation to the kettle I'd say you're on the right track. For Ales it will definitely work but for lagers and cold crashing it might be a stretch or very labor intensive.

Would it be possible to place the cooler (or another container) into a mini fridge? Then for sure you'd be able to reach your low target temps for long durations.

Thanks