CPBF disaster..Too much foam- does beer line length matter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

troyp42

Reaction score
So back when I started brewing and made my kegerator they didnt have the fancy push in fittings that I can get from Kegland now so I had to use 5 and 6mm ID hose so I could get it over the barbs..just.

Problem was I had to serve my beer at very low pressures or it would foam up. I found that when I got my CPBF and tried to bottle there wasnt enough Co2 in the beer and it went flat quickly.

Recently I switched to 4mm ID hose and changed the length to 3 metres on one tap and 1.5 on the other to see how it went. I could now set my reg at around 85KPA (12 psi and the beer would pour great with a nice creamy head. But tonight I tried bottling and each beer had a really big head of foam at least 3 inches tall. I switched to another keg I needed to bottle and also swapped out the beer line from the 5mm 1 metre length I was using to a 4mm 2 metre length. Its as much better this time but I dont know if it was changing the beer line that fixed it or because I used a different keg. (Although both kegs are connected up to the same regulator same gas settings etc.)

So have I learnt a valuable lesson in that you should bottle with the same beer line ID and size that you have in your kegerator? I set the pressure to 4 psi to bottle but still had issues with the first keg.

Ok....So not many CPBF experts around..lol. Anyway Ive attached a carbonation cap to 3 bottles and connected gas up to them in the hope that they re absorb the CO2. I don't see why it shouldn't work.

my understanding is that generally you want to bleed off the pressure in the keg temporarily to use a CPBF.