Corney Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petho

Reaction score
I am new to kegging and have a question. I have a 5 gallon corney and it has the pin lock connectors. There are 2 push on connectors, one is grey and one is black. I notice that the grey connector will fit on either post but the black will only fit on one post comfortably.
Is there suposed to be only one way to hook up the keg?

Yes, you want the gas going to the top, pushing the beer down. The gas 'in' (grey) has a short tube. The black should hook to the post that has a dip tube that reaches to the bottom of the keg. Gas pushes the beer out through the bottom, which coincidently is where the beer is.

Seems reasonable. The fellow at the LHBS said that I could hook up the gas to the dip tube side for a few days at high pressure to force carb the batch but I am guessing that is not a good idea if the connectors dont really fit the post properly.

I've come up with a pretty crude but simple way to remember which is which.

Gray = Gas
Black = Beer

Also, for the pins...the gas post only has 2 pins, while the liquid post has 3. You want more Beer than you do Gas!

The fellow at the LHBS said that I could hook up the gas to the dip tube side for a few days at high pressure to force carb the batch but I am guessing that is not a good idea if the connectors dont really fit the post properly.

Oh, it's not really a "bad" idea. I don't personally think you get much, if any, benefit from it, though. Certainly no more than just giving the keg a bit of a shake every now and then.

Interesting, thanks for the advice, urge. I am kegging another batch next weekend and I'll try the other method. thanks!