Cider on top of yeast cake?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sdenue57

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to bottle a DIPA I brewed today. I've wanted to try making a cider. My question is, would it be alright to just pour 5 gallons of cider, and a little bit of table sugar, right on top of the yeast cake? I used a mix of Conan and Nottingham on the brew, so I'm thinking it probably will finish a bit sweet, which is Ok with me. Any advice is appreciated, as this is my first attempt at a cider.:D

I would NOT reuse a yeast cake that had a beer on it with over 6% ABV. If you made a DIPA, the yeast will be pretty stressed due to the high alcohol level.

Generally, you could reuse some yeast for cider (not a whole cake, that's WAY too much), but you want to go from a lower ABV to higher, not in reverse.

I may have played a little loosely with the DIPA term. It turned out at 7% ABV, so not really a double. I'm probably just gonna scoop some of the yeast out and add it to some jars of harvested yeast I had in the fridge. Worse comes to worse, I can run to the LHBS and get some. Thanks for the replies!

I might be a little concerned that reusing yeast from an IPA might have a lot of hop flavor/bitterness left in the trub. I have no personal experience that is the case, just throwing the thought out there.
I did reuse yeast from my DoubleAlt in the Graf that is currently fermenting, so I might be a hypocrite...........

Not too worried about a little hoppiness to it. Poured the apple cider into a different fermenter, scooped 3 soup ladles of the yeast cake into it, and then pitched the 2 jars of harvested Conan into it. Bubbling away nicely this morning!:ban: