Cheap REX-C100 PID Problem

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Granby
I bought a cheap REX-C100 PID with SSR.

When I start it, I got the boot process, I saw the min and max value of my thermocouple then reboot.

It's always do this and I can't go in the menu because its always rebooting.

How can I fix it.... before I throw by the window.

Thanks
 
OP
S
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Granby
Always the same thing.. except if I unplug the thermocouple, I saw the uuuu error before he reboot lol
 

FastTalker

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
174
Reaction score
24
Location
Nashville
Could be a problem with the power supply. Are you using the correct power supply for the model that you have?
 
OP
S
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Granby
I supply it with 110 volts.... but the label say ac220v
You really think I can't run it on 110v ???
 

augiedoggy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
10,207
Reaction score
2,240
Location
North Tonawanda NY
I supply it with 110 volts.... but the label say ac220v
You really think I can't run it on 110v ???
Well yeah. If its asking for twice the voltage your feeding it..... keep in mind this is a celcius only cheap pid not designed for the US in mind or our power when designed..I have one myself I quit using when I discovered the my pin Td4 pids are leaps an bounds better for the same price range but mine worked fine....on 240v. Don't take this as me picking on you but this is the biggest issue with cheap components... they cost so little people ignore the specs and are quick to blame to product when they don't work when installed incorrectly.

Fyi the specs for power on a my pin are 90-240v AC....
 

Brumateur

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
512
Reaction score
76
I've seen different REX C-100 models. most of them has universal power supply. But some 120 or 220 volts only.
 
OP
S
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Granby
Yeah, I saw it after. I think mine it only 220v.... never mind, I order a Auberins. I'm sure I'll be ok now
 

BlkWater_brewer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
515
Reaction score
90
Location
Webster
I had the same problem with a Sestos PID - replaced it with a MYPIN and then said the hell with it and bought a Auberins with different sensor. Turned out it was the cheap ass sensor that was causing the problem. The Auberins did the same thing when I hooked up the original sensor. The way I figure it, if something costs about 1/2 of the rest then there is a good chance there is a reason. I use the MYPIN as thermometer only now.
.
 

beikeland

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I see this is a fairly old thread, but it was also the only seemingly relevant search hit for Rex C100 and uuuu, so adding my findings for future refrence:

After going over (and over and over) external wiring I took a look inside, and in my case the culprit was missing voltages from the power supply board to the logic board due to broken solder joints! Not an easy fix to unsolder all three interconnecting ribbon cables and replacing them, but works like a charm after.
 
Top