Brew water help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BuiltToLast

Reaction score
So I'm trying to figure out how to get my mash water dialed in with Bru'n water and I'm having a hell of a time getting things to balance out. If I get my pH (5.3) and ion levels dialed in by adding lactic acid, my Bicarbonate/Alkalinity/RA are WAY in the negative. If I get my by bicarbonate levels and ions dialed in my mash is an expected 5.6+ pH. I'm clearly missing something here. I've been brewing commercially for 9 years (just now returning to home brewing) and we treat our water pretty much the same way for all the brews we do, so this is all foreign to me. Trying to figure this out is quite daunting. Any help would be much appreciated!

5.3 is a bit low, but that works for lighter colored beers so it may depend on what you're making.

The thing you want to do is have a proper mash pH. The amount of bicarbonate is NOT a target- you only need as much alkalinity as you need to get the right mash pH. Never increase that, unless you have a reason to need to raise the mash pH (almost never, but maybe with RO water and a ton of dark roasted grains).

Thanks for the quick reply! So I got it all dialed in, here's a screen shot of bru'n water. Does this look appropriate? It gives me a pH of 5.4.

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 9.48.46 PM.png

What's the projected mash pH? I see you chose "amber bitter", so I assume it's something like an American amber/red?

I'd probably ditch that minute amount of NaCl, and just add it as CaS04 to increase the calcium a wee bit more (to assist yeast flocculation), but if your mash pH is 5.4, and you're happy with the additions, it looks ok to me.