Brett Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sacandagabrewing

Reaction score
hey everyone! So I am doing a cider with White Labs 645 Brett C just to see what happens. It’s only a one gallon batch but instead of making a starter, I just dumped the whole vial in figuring it should be sufficient since it was meant for five gallons. It’s been 24 hours with no activity. Any suggestions or advice? I’ve never used Brett before so I am more than willing to hear

• No preservatives in the juice?
  • No sulfite/Campden added?
  • Temperature is warm? (White Labs recommend 85°F for this culture)
  • The culture was manufactured within 3 months, and you didn't temperature shock it?

If that all checks, just leave it alone. Brett is slower than Sacc.

Cheers

• No preservatives in the juice?
  • No sulfite/Campden added?
  • Temperature is warm? (White Labs recommend 85°F for this culture)
  • The culture was manufactured within 3 months, and you didn't temperature shock it?
If that all checks, just leave it alone. Brett is slower than Sacc.

Cheers
Thanks so much! Any idea on how long I should let it coast for?

Before you should worry? That's really hard to say.

FYI White Labs Brett cultures only contain approx 17.5B cells (at the time of manufacturer), and also contain small amounts of Sacc.
Let's say the package is a month old. That's about 14B cells, about 0.3M/mL/°P for 1.050 juice. That's a pretty low pitch rate.
A low pitch rate combined with the fact that it's a slow-growing yeast ... I'd guess it'll take at least several days to show activity, possibly longer like a week or more, depending on the age of the culture, acidity, temperature, nutrients, etc.