Believe the calculators for extract? All in IPA recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matheos

Reaction score
Hey again guys,

I am planning my fourth recipe atm, but I keep getting stuck on some details. I am new to brewing and therefore, I want to try to explore LME instead of DME this time. I am planning a simple recipe, but the IBU calculations are giving me headaches.

I want to use some X amount of LME (in KG). I only have access to a 10L pot, so I will add 8L of water to my boil. Because of this, I need to calculate how much LME I wanna boil to get a pasteurized wort for my hop additions, and then later on add the remaining LME at flameout.

I had the recipe all done and tidy, but now when I change a large part of my LME to late additions the IBUs go through the roof. Could someone explain this to me, and tell me what to believe?

My recipe (WIP):
19L batch
8L water in the pot
The manufacturer reports 80-82 brix for the LME. I don't understand this number as this translates into massive SG, which recipe calculators can't even take in as the yield is larger than 100%! So Instead, I calculate with 300PKL (36PPG) as some average number for LME.
This gives me the following calculations if I wish to have a pre-boil gravity of around 1.040
LME in boil = (40 points * 8L) / 300PKL = 1,07Kg so about 1Kg.
Fermentables:
1KgLMEBoil
2KgLMEFlameout/straight to fermentor

Hop additions (a bit unorthodox perhaps but it is all my left over pellets):
Chinook12,8 AA55gBoil@ 60
Cascade5,5 AA10gBoil@ 10
Chinook12,8 AA10gBoil@ 10
Enigma18,6 AA36gDry hop3 days
Cascade5,5 AA66gDry hop3 days
Chinook12,8 AA35gDry hop3 days

Yeast: US-05