Belgian Wit Attenuation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ceegar

Reaction score
Hey guys and gals. I'm not a newbie by any stretch, but even the seasoned brewer comes across a situation that just causes you to throw your hands in the air.

I'm seeing the strangest thing happen on the last few batches of Belgian Wit I've made where my beer struggles to ferment down past 1.020. It's almost as if I have some unfermentable sugars in my beer.

Mash schedule is a single infusion mash @ 154 degrees for 60 mins - No mash out - fly sparge w/170 degree water - 60 min boil. I'm hitting my OG targets almost dead nuts every time - 1.052-1.054. I had a third batch that also did this before these latest 2, but because I use variations in my grain bill I can't remember what I used in that batch. But the common thread with all 3 batches - I've been using Wyeast Belgian Wit 3944. Attenuation is only around 60%. I can only deduce that it's the yeast causing this but I'm just not sure. I know I've used 3944 before where I didn't see this problem. Here are the grain bills from the last 2 batches I've brewed where I've experienced the same thing, but there shouldn't be anything here that stands out as the culprit. I'm really suspecting yeast here.

4lbs 8oz Flaked Wheat
5lbs 4oz Rahr Premium Pilsner
1lb Flaked Oats
4oz Munich Malt

and

5lbs 4oz Rahr Premium Pilsner
2lbs 4oz White Wheat
2lbs 4oz Flaked Wheat
1lb Flaked Oats
4oz Munich Malt

Thoughts anyone?