A Question About Recipes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

imsperic

Reaction score
I put this in the Beginner Forum because, well, I'm a beginner.

In any case, I've been watching Brew Masters, where they profile Dogfish Head. What I've seen Sam do is take a base recipe for a beer, let's say a stout, and add some other ingredients (chicory, among other others), to create the Chicory Stout. He does this often: "We took a brown ale and then added [insert crazy ingredients] and the result is [insert clever name that I wish I thought of]."

So it got me thinking: where does he get the recipe for a base ale that he's going to use in a given brew? How many different variations are there on, let's say, an amber ale? Are there an infinite number of ways (by combining diff. hop and yeast varieties) to make an amber ale? Or are there a limited number of "standard" recipes for amber ale? Do I make sense?

I'm just trying to wrap my mind around how one would go about making one's own recipe, and not feel completely overwhelmed at the potential combinations, but be able to arrive at something unique.

Perhaps I'm overthinking this. Thanks in advance for bearing with my incoherence.

Well it depends on whether you are a style conformist or not. An Amber Ale does have a specific style definition/expectation.

There are infinite ways you could modify the basic Amber Ale recipe but at some point it would no longer meet the defined style definition of an Amber Ale.

You may not care about that, which is perfectly acceptable unless you plan on having the beer formally judged. The nice thing about making your own beer is that you can do whatever you want. If you like it and it was fun to make it's perfect!