A few beginner questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

off7spring

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to home brewing...I just started with a brooklyn brew shop IPA kit this past weekend.

I've been trying to learn more about the brewing process and I just had a few basic questions:

1) Is there any advantage to bagging the mash and letting it steep vs straining jt afterward? Bagging just seems much cleaner.

2) The kit I got had me use a blowoff tube for the first 3 days then switch to the airlock. Is that always necessary or can the airlock be used from the start?

3) The instructions that came with my kit say to keep the honey and water mix in a separate bowl and siphon some up before bottling each bottle during bottling. Are there any drawbacks to siphoning the beer from the fermenter right into the mixture (in a bucket) and then filling from there so it's more evenly mixed with the sugar solution?

4) I was reading some about tabs you can add during the boil for increased clarity. Is that usually a good rule of thumb for every batch, or does it really depend on the type of beer?

Thanks for taking the time to read this...I look forward to any responses, as well as exploring this forum as I get more into home brewing!

ive been brewing for 13 months over 100 gallons, I dont understand some of your terminology! bagging????? what is this? I'd like to help!

1) Is there any advantage to bagging the mash and letting it steep vs straining jt afterward? Bagging just seems much cleaner.

Are you talking about steeping grains (like crystal/caramel) or actual mashing of base grains? For steeping, a muslin bag works well.