Best brewing kit for the $$$

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chchadder

Reaction score
Hey all! I'm a newb to brewing and to this forum. Been looking through the posts and searching to see if anyone had compiled a thread on their favorite kits that are out there. Pros/cons of each, etc...

Here are a few that I am looking at to start with. I would appreciate any thoughts on them or others that I have missed.

Thanks!

http://www.williamsbrewing.com/BREWERY_WITH_RED_ALE_P628C73.cfm

Or any of these:

http://www.beer-wine.com/category_page.asp?categoryID=1&sectionID=1

http://www.monsterbrew.com/Prod_GoldKit.cfm

But having read about people meeting Mr. Beer in a dark alley, not this:

http://www.mrbeer.com/

LOL! :D

Quick newb question (be gentle): what is the advantage of the glass carboy over the kits with the plastic buckets?

Thanks!

I have the True Brew Gold kit, and just started my first batch, the one you see advertised has a few more things then mine (no capper, no bottle or carboy brush) I am pleased with my purchase if that makes a difference in your decision, hopefully someone with more batches under their belt will chime in

Man, I am going sound like a salesperson for Austin Homebrewing, (which I am not) but Forrest is getting ready to have a sale this weekend. You might check out what he will put on sale. Not sure how his starter kits compare to everybody elses, but once he puts stuff on sale you might be able to piece together a starter set and save a ton of cash at the same time.
I put together a cart full of equipment and have it sitting ready to check out once the sale prices go into effect on Saturday.