Looking to brew my first IPA using malt extract. Tips on good extracts and priming tips?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matheos

Reaction score
Hello guys!

I recently brewed my first ever batch of home made beer. It was using the Coopers Lager kit which was bundled with my fermenting equipment: see here if you wanna know what it included.
I live in an appartment and I am still a student, so I am for the moment not looking to "cook from scratch", why I am targeting extracts in this post.

My favourite beer is the IPA, so I would like to give my shot at that one next. Preferably looking to brew a beer with more than 4 ABV. As I live in Finland and I use our local web shops, I will give a few suggestions on extracts + extras that I have found while looking around. If you have any thoughts or tips/experiences regarding these, please tell me! The links will be to english websites so everyone will understand, though I won't be purchasing from these sites.

1. St. Peters IPA Kit
    • Sceptical because it seems so simple: Mix extract and water -->add hops (oil?) --> add yeast. wait (No sugar or DME need to be added!?)
    • Cheapest option for me I have found. Makes 19L
  2. Bullet Brew Session IPA
    • Needs 1KG brewing sugar (dextrose) bought separately
    • Includes hop extract
    • Makes 23L
  3. Bullet Brew Tanked Reloaded IPA
    • Strongest ABV, a bit more expensive
    • 23L
    • Same requirements as above Bullet Brew
  4. Coopers Brew A IPA
    • 23L
    • Prehopped
    • Recommended sugar is 1.5KG Dry malt extract but I have also seen combinations of DME with dextrose used. If you recommend this extract, what combination would you recommend?
  5. Any other suggestions? I will do my best to find them available in Finland.