AC Unit Fermentation / Beer Cellaring Closet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kpr121

Reaction score
My newest project (seems like I have a lot of these since I started brewing :)) is to turn the closet in my bar downstairs into a fermentation / cellaring closet.

The plan is to use a 5000 BTU ac unit to cool an approximately 3 x 8 x 7 area inside the closet. I'll be insulating it with R-13 batting and probably 2" polystyrene foam board.

Heres a pic of the closet from behind the bar (old picture, my camera needs charged).
IMG_0973.jpg

The left wall is a semi exterior wall, it leads to an unheated garage. The right wall is the adjacent to the stairs, and the back wall leads to the other room in the basement:
CIMG0100.jpg

I'll be trying to update this thread with pictures and details as the project progresses. As of now I just have the AC mounted in the rear of the closet, and thats about all, nothing exciting.

Are there any real issues with using this area for both fermentation and long term beer storage? I would mostly only be fermenting ales, lagers only if after testing I can get the temps down that low. I would also like to maybe store some wine in this closet as well. If I go the lager route I may have to create a separate chamber to keep the overall temps consistent.