Will beer get less 'sweet' with age?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THRobinson

Reaction score
I tried brewing years ago (10yrs ago) a few times with kits, and just started to brew again this year. Having the same problem as before though, sweet beer. Tastes like there is too much sugar in it.

I'm using a kit... I'm a newbie so need to start somewhere. I brewed the "Coopers International Series English Bitter" as seen here

http://store.coopers.com.au/products/home-brew/4-home-brew-cans/english-bitter-home-brew-1-7kg-

This time I started using the hydrometer and actually following directions. Kit instructions are to add the contents of the can to 2 litres of boiling water, add in 1kg of Dextrose, then mix into 18 litres of cold water. Take the reading then add in the yeast. OG was 1.050. After 9 days, I moved the contents to the secondary fermenter (leaving behind the sludge) and after about a month the FG was 1.014.

I then added 200ml dextrose to 1 cup boiling water to dissolve it all, put it into container, then siphoned the brew into the same container leaving behind the crud at the bottom. Then bottled it.

Now the instructions said to wait 12 weeks after bottling to drink, but I tried one anyway after 3 weeks. Way too sweet/heavy for a bitter and worried 9 more weeks won't help it. My original brews all had the same problem, even with a regular pale ale it was way too sweet.

Doing the math that was on the Coopers can to find the ABV, it puts my Bitter at about 5.325% which the can suggested 5.3% so, pretty close. I also left it in the secondary fermenter longer than I should have by a week to make sure the yeast was done. Just worried the Stout I have on the go now will have the same problem.

Anyone know where I'm going wrong?

:drunk: