Very novice question!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Agtronic

Reaction score
Hey guys / gals,

I've been brewing wine successfully for the last 3 years. My results are consistently successful, and I really enjoy the wine.

Now, I've tried brewing beer a few times in the past, and have never been very happy with the results.

The last beer I made was a Cooper's Bitter kit, and while I do not hate it, I definitely don't love it. There is a strong after taste that seems to be common to each of the kits I have made in the past. It's definitely an off flavor and is best described as rubbing alcohol, with a soapy character.

A few months ago I bought "How To Brew" by John Palmer, and it's opened up my eyes to how big the world of home brewing is. It's also given me hope.

After reading some of the book, I've come to the conclusion that the strong alcohol flavor is probably due to fact that the kit is extended using highly fermentable sugar.

I currently have a can of Cooper's Draught I received as a gift, and want to try making something good with it. I purchased a bag of Amber dry malt extract, and plan to use that instead of the sugar. I understand that this will probably throw off the balance of hops bitterness, but I don't feel like I'm ready to start experiementing with boiling the wort and adding hops. (I also do not have the equipment).

I would like to try the kit, with the only change being DME instead of sugar. I will see what that does for the beer, and then move forward from there. (I like taking baby steps!)

My questions :

1) I'm not certain how to introduce the DME. Can I simply dilute it into hot water, then mix that into my LME/WATER mix? I do not have a large pot for heating the entire mix.