Extract VS ALL GRAIN (Questions)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davidamerica

Reaction score
Extract VS All Grain Question

(Disclaimer I am trying to be somewhat funny here please relax before you read this UmKay?)

Since I started brewing beer which was not long ago it SEEMS as if there is sort of a “You are not worthy unless you go grain” mentality but I could be wrong. As I said it SEEMS.

I understand the differences between the 2 methods relatively speaking but is there a sort of rivalry between the two brewer types?

My friend, when I told him I brewed extracts treated me a bit differently than some of our mutual friends who are die hard grain brewers. I felt like the 3rd wheel as if my friend was saying “Yea guys, Dave still has his training wheels on so he won’t understand the methods we speak.”

As for me......I seek the knowledge….and someday I shall find!

In fairness, I have been wanting to try all grain to see what the “Other Side” does when it comes to brewing but have been reluctant because of time and apparent difficulty. I will try soon enough when I get more experience, not just yet.

One more tidbit, I noticed people talking about full boil in all grain vs. partial boil in extract. The water is either boiling or it isn’t am I right, so what does full boil mean? I brew extract and I boil the wort for 40 minutes just like the instructions ask and there is no mention to “partially boil the water” for 40 minutes. Just thought I would ask. Example: “Hey Bob, go ahead and partially park the car in the garage, when you get more driving experience I may let you fully park it in the garage.”