Why am I the only one who can taste this off taste?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sudsmcgee

Reaction score
I'm a noob whose second extract batch (American Amber Ale kit) has an off flavor that I have to assume is maybe acetaldehyde but I don't know. I liken it to a fruity almost apple cidery flavor that's not disgusting but not appealing to me. It's slowly mellowing with time and the batch is not infected. It has spent 3 weeks in primary and almost 5 in bottles. I know that I fermented this too warm (75-6 ambient temp, nottingham yeast, no swamp chiller) and have learned my lesson.

Anyway, that's not my point. Whatever the flavor is, I appear to be the ONLY one who can taste it. My parents and in-laws swear they have no idea what I'm talking about and they think it tastes great. My mom doesn't even like beer and she loved it. As soon as I smell or taste this batch it's the first thing I pick up and it turns me off a little. It's still completely drinkable, but not what was I was hoping to make.

Any thoughts? Are some people more sensitive to off flavors than others? Am I gonna get slapped for asking this question?

Diacetyl is not cidery...what you are tasting is probably acetaldehyde.

http://www.howtobrew.com/section4/chapter21-2.html

Different people perceive flavors differently. Everyone has certain flavors that they cannot detect easily, and some that seem overpowering that others don't seem to notice at all.

Get your fermentation temperatures under control and see if you still get these flavors. Even keeping a wet t-shirt around your fermenter will help out. Moreso if you can get some air circulating on it.

Diacetyl is not cidery...what you are tasting is probably acetaldehyde.

http://www.howtobrew.com/section4/chapter21-2.html