What I have learned regarding the process of making a NEIPA.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mlafnitzegger

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been brewing NEIPAs for about 2 and a half years now. I have brewed this style now over 50 times and have tweeked the process with posts on this site as well as researching the internet and just the experience of making a NEIPA. I am not an expert. I am always trying new process additions when they interest me. Anyways here's my list of tidbits. Hopefully will help someone.

Actually #1 should be SANITIZE but...

#1 Water (Liquor for you snobs ;))
I tried to use my tap water. I had 3 water reports done; one in Feb, one in June, one Sept. My town adds different treatments to the water supply to control algae. They were slight differences. I could never get it quite right. Then I started using RO water. That probably helped the most in brewing NEIPAs.
PH; Another important part of my process. It does help with mouthfeel and bitterness in final product. Get a PH Meter.

#2 Hops
I have tried soooo many different schedules. Currently my schedule is like this;
NO Boil Hops (it was just too bitter and was taking away from the hop flavor I wanted).
Flameout hops. I usually use 2 to 4oz. I also make sure my muslin bag is fully saturated with wort. Cool down quickly to 160f. Less then 5 minutes.
Whirlpool hops. I will use between 3 and 8oz depending on how crazy I feel. Let that whirlpool for 20 to 45 minutes depending on your taste. I have not tasted a difference when using a longer whirlpool but I do get side tracked sometimes and will let it go as long as 45 minutes. Make sure to monitor temp and keep it at the temp you target plus or minus 5f degrees.