Wanting to try BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 337266

Reaction score
Let me start by saying I am completely new to the hobby. Ive only made 1 extract brew so far and its still carbonating. Im wanting to start another one but do BIAB and kind of confused if I have the equipment to do it and/or what do I need to get from amazon or anywhere else. First thing I know I need is a bag but not sure where to get one and how big based on my kettle and if my kettle is large enough. Im using a turkey fryer right now that is 30qts converts to 7.5 gallons. Making 5 gallon batch. Thanks

Last edited:
Some will say you need a kettle up to 3x batch size. My kettle is 1.25x, not that I'd recommend it. If you're already doing a full volume boil, it's the mash volume that will be your bottleneck. Moving ~40% of your water to a room temp dunk sparge in a bucket will reduce your mash volume and increase your efficiency as bonus.

Wilserbag and Brewbag are the market leaders. I use a Wilserbag and am 100% happy. You place an order on Wilserbrewer's site and follow up by email with your kettle dimensions. He'll probably ship your appropriately sized bag the next day.

I can also recommend the Wilser bags. A plus is that he is an HBT sponsor.

The bag should be just big enough to put your pot inside of it, and about 4 inches taller than the pot (with the pot inside it.)

7.5 gal will be a little too small to do full volume mash on anything but small (low OG) beers. But as @DBhomebrew said, a room temp dunk sparge in a bucket will get the boil volume you need.

Brew on :mug:

My El Cheapo basic garage setup for full volume BIAB, for average ABV 5 gallon batches:
20230328_193856.jpg