Do you consider electric/automated brewing equipment to be cheating?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do you consider electric/automated brewing equipment to be cheating?

• Yes

Votes: 3 4.0%
  • No

Votes: 72 96.0%

• Total voters

Gunshowgreg

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been doing BIAB with a pulley system for a couple years and it works really well for me. Started with the mashtun cooler and haven’t looked back. Clean up is easy and I also do no chill with that saves lots of time. . I have been interested in some of the brew kettles like Claw Hammer or Gigawort or Grain father. They seem nice. Be cool to brew on my countertop. However it seems like they are kinda automated and do a lot of things for you. My knowledge on them is not all that great. But is using this type of equipment cheating? Im curious what people think about the equipment if they have used it and if they are worth the money. The Claw Hammer one looks nice but sets you back $1000.00. Do you find it takes the fun out of brewing compared to other methods?

I think "cheating" is going to the local pub and spending $15 on a pint or two.

I also do "no chill" once I didn't have a pool to push heat into anymore, but still use my 15 gallon stockpot on a propane burner because there's only the cost of propane, no new equipment.

The point is to make something you enjoy or can share with others. There's no cheating on how you get there.

If you truly don't understand how and why what you are doing works, then, maybe.

I used to think of electric car windows as cheating or lazy, for that matter; what's wrong with points and condenser and a distributor cap? Is kegging cheating?