Using Walmart jug water (primo) do I need to worry about profile?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcfire12

Reaction score
So I've recently started doing all grain. My buddy helped me on my last brew and he added some chalk, and other white substances to my water, checked my ph while mashing and I believe it was 5.2 which he said was perfect.

Anyway, I use the ro water from walmart in the big blue jugs because i'm on a well here at home and it's not the greatest stuff. Do I need to get a water report from this stuff and really get into what all these chemicals do? I'll be brewing by myself this weekend. I'm sure I can get a good beer out using just the RO water, but I guess i'm wondering if I need to be doing more. I'm totally new to these water adjustments and understand basically nothing with it. I'm going to read everything I can on it on Howtobrew.com just figured I would post something here to see what kind of response I get, if it's even worth my time to read into all of this or not. Thanks in advance!

I should add that I found this. Purified water,minerals added - sodium bicarbonate, calcium chloride and magnesium sulphate.

Last edited:
So I've recently started doing all grain. My buddy helped me on my last brew and he added some chalk, and other white substances to my water, checked my ph while mashing and I believe it was 5.2 which he said was perfect.

Never use chalk in brewing. I won't go into the reasons here but you can look them up.

5.2 is OK for mash if measured at mash temperature. Measured at room temperature ( where on should do it) 5.4 - 5.6 is good.

Anyway, I use the ro water from walmart in the big blue jugs because i'm on a well here at home and it's not the greatest stuff. Do I need to get a water report from this stuff..