To potassium sorbate or not to potassium sorbate..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drinksahoy

Reaction score
That is my question.

So I was trying to do some research on the proper fermentation halting method using potassium sorbate and campden tablets.
For every 1 post in favor I find 5 against it.

Why is this?

I have been making mead and cider for a few months now and everything comes out so dry that my friends and family don't like it.
I don't mind it but then again I made it.

I want to either halt fermentation at my desired FG or ferment to dry and then halt it and back sweeten.

But I keep reading people suggesting alternative and much more expensive methods!

It depends on your equipment and capabilities. Folks who can "cold crash" and filter ($$) have options that the rest of us don't. The practical thing for the average cider maker to do is let the cider finish dry, clear, then stabilize with sorbate and sulfite. Then you can sweeten without worries.

It is easier to stop a woman's tears than to halt a ferment exactally where you want it. You could do some fancy math and up the OG and use a yeast that will crap out at a specific ABV and end up with a sweeter cider.
They have mead calculators on line, I wonder if they have a cider one....
There is nothing wrong with using K-sorb and campden, unless you are trying to bottle carbonate, then you can't. You could also backsweeten with non-fermentable sugars, or artificial sweeteners - but the last batch I did with that kind of tastes like Tab. I can tell the artificial sweetness, although I haven't tried all of them.
You could also backsweeten, bottle and then pasteurize when you have the amount of carbonation you want.